Welcome – An introduction, an explanation

April 6, 2011

Welcome to my blog – however you got here.

I’m Kat, a twenty-something university student, majoring in Political Science, minoring in Women’s Studies (although that may change). My area of interest is nation building and politics, and more specifically, how women are included and/or excluded from this area (whether it is intentional, or unintentional). I am also interested in how women have been affected by neocolonialism, war, and violence.

I created this as a space to write about feminism(s), and current issues relating to women’s rights, gender equality, and oppression.  This is separate from my personal journal and my music blog, partially because I don’t think those who read my personal journal or music blog particularly want to read about feminism/gender & societal issues, and people who might want to read my blog on feminism/gender & societal issues may not want to read about music, and probably don’t care about my private life.

Disclaimer- I do no claim to know everything. In fact, there are many, many things that I do not know or understand. Furthermore, I recognize that as a Canadian, middle class, white woman, who has access to a university education, there are certain things I am unable to understand, no matter how hard I try (and I may try)

If I offend someone, or if you disagree with me, please let me know, preferably as nicely as possible. Personal attacks or threats are NOT acceptable. (whether you are commenting on the original post, or on someone else’s comment). I guess thats pretty much it for now.

(If you want to share this link, please post a comment or something. Just so I know)

Leave a comment